Such an iPhone Guy

By Louis Borgenicht

I am definitely not a techno-freak but I admit being seduced over the years by PC’s and most recently Apple products. The conversion from years of non-Mac computers was not difficult.

“Macs are intuitive,” my middle aged kids assured me.

So a few years I bought a freestanding gMac, followed by a portable MacBook Air, and a first generation iPad (currently used by my wife to look up recipes or to Google something during a dinner conversation). Oh yes, both of us own iPhones. It took me a year of frustrating Droidness before I broke down and got one.

I like them all. And until I broke down and bought my iPhone, I suffered the pangs slung by friends about my techno-logic stupidity.

“Lou you are such an iPhone guy,” they insisted over lunch as I tried to open an app on my Droid.

And on recent trip to France I became convinced—I was one lucky son-of-a-bitch. Walking on the beach in St. Malo, I listened to my iTunes: the latest album I had downloaded by a French harmonica player, Gregoire Maret. Back at the terasse of our B & B, I collected my e-mail and responded to people halfway around the world, read the online version of the Salt Lake Tribune and The New York Times, checked out the weather in Kamas, heard the latest joke from Old Jews Telling Jokes and marveled how I could do so much from the Apple device.

On my return to Salt Lake I was confronted by another technological dilemma. David, my son the publisher, had three reading devices in his house : a Nook, a Kindle, and his most recent purchase, a Kobo. The Kings English, our favorite independent book store in SLC had started selling the latter exclusively.

During one of my weekly visits to the store, I looked at the device unconvinced. But the seed had been planted. I asked Dave to tell me a reason I should think about buying a Kobo. I love the aesthetic of holding a book in my hand and saw myself as a pariah if I converted to a reader.

“Dad, you know there are books you read that you will never read again and just sit on your shelves until you donate them to the library,” David said.

“Yes,” I realized. “I guess it is an ecologic issue. That makes sense.”

The next day I went to The Kings English and bought a Kobo. I didn’t feel sheepish or embarrassed; I knew I was being environmentally responsible.

I downloaded my first book: The Secret Race by Tyler Hamilton. Now I just have to find time to read it.

Editor’s Note: If you’re interested in digital reading–or want an e-reader for the techie on your list–we hope you’ll stop by to test-drive a Kobo for yourself. You can even order them from us online. The best part? Sign up for Kobo using this link and we’ll earn a portion of every e-book you buy from Kobo for years to come. Without buying a device at all, you can also download a free Kobo app for iPad, iPhone, Android devices, Nook, and Sony Reader. Learn how here. If you’re ready to give it a try, download the appropriate app here.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,981 other followers

