Horton Hatches the Egg

9780394800776by Rob Eckman

It was finally time to read a Seuss I know by heart, “Horton Hatches the Egg” (1940). I just love how selfish the lazy Mayzie-bird is when she coyly convinces Horton is sit in her tree on her nest on her egg. Reading it is so fun because it demands its own tempo, slower and deliberate, except when we read Mayzie, who is fast and sly. I think she is Dr. Seuss’s first character who may need . . . professional help. Dr. Seuss was fond of teaching gentle lessons and Horton offers what must be Seuss’s first immortal moral: “I meant what I said and I said what I meant, an elephant’s faithful one hundred percent!” “The King’s Stilts” (1939) also has a positive message about work ethic. Can you, reader, tell us the lines from “Stilts” that suggests keeping balance in our lives?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,980 other followers

