Guest Blogger | Louis Borgenicht

It has taken many years for me to find my true niche at TKE. As a patron and more recently a kibitzer (what else do you do in a cozy and delicious bookstore?) I found my new calling through pure serendipity.

On one of recent regular Wednesday visits I found myself, as usual, perusing the bulletin board for local cultural events. I have longstanding history of deep and abiding interest in bulletin boards and have never been able to pass by one without stopping. During medical school most of my friends would ask me what cultural events were happening in Cleveland on a given day: embarrassingly, I usually knew.

So on this momentous day in TKE I noticed a personal item on the board: one of those typed notices with twenty tear-off strips with phone numbers for contact. It was search for a roommate.

I was appalled. TKE was not a coffee shop.

I took a quick survey of the booksellers behind the counter (I think Dawn and Jan were the prime movers). The consensus was that the notice did not belong there.

I removed the offending notice with a self-righteous flourish and tossed it.

“I would like to volunteer here as Keeper of the Bulletin Board,” I announced. “Who do I have to talk to?”

“No problem. Just do it. Consider it yours,” Jan said, apparently relieved to have yet another tedious job taken off her over-burdened shoulders.

It is not an easy job. It requires figuring out whether a posted even has taken place or is yet to happen. I love it though; I consider it a valuable community service, one that I easily fit into one of my days off.

Plus I get to kibitz while I am doing it.

____________________________

Louis Borgenicht, our first guest blogger, is a regular customer, a good friend of the store, and an author. Head on over to his website, LouisBorgenicht.com, to learn more about him!

One Response to Guest Blogger | Louis Borgenicht

  1. Anne Holman says:

    Thank you for all you do Dr. Lou!

Leave a Reply

