First Kiss – Do Tell!

Happy Valentine’s! And here it is, the long awaited First Kiss post (I know you all were just holding your breath). We collected some great stories at the event on Tuesday (names have been removed in order to protect the innocent)! I apologize to any readers who dislike this sort of thing; consider yourself excused from the rest of the post. For the rest of you, get your First Kiss fix — if this isn’t enough for you, there’s a whole book of ’em!

I was 3 years old and my mom was taking my picture with my best friend Cole… He gave me a kiss on the cheek during the picture and we got it on film! It was darling and I still like him to this day so it was a good kiss 🙂

Oddly enough, the one that sticks in my mind is a young one too — I was in pre-school. I don’t actually remember the kiss itself, but it must have been good, because the next day another girl kissed my boy and I hit her over the head with my lunchbox. My pink, plastic, My Little Pony lunchbox.

My first year of college I roomed with five other girls who liked to peek through the blinds to see if my date would walk me to the apartment door. On the third date, he leaned in to kiss me and I started giggling, knowing the girls were all peeking — I could hear them snickering. He said ‘stop laughing’ and leaned in again. He got one peck before I burst out laughing ,ran into the apartment and slammed the door. The next kiss, in teh parking lot away from prying eyes, was much better.

Our fabulous manager, Anne Holman, remembers her first hand-holding instead: His name was Butch Hamby and he grabbed my hand and asked me if I wanted to arm wrestle.

I was in ninth grade, so was he. He was actually old for 9th grade, so he got his license early. We drove to the park where we went on a nice long walk. Too bad I don’t remember if there was moonlight. I really thought it was romantic – despite the fact that our braces touched just barely and made a scratchy noise.

Ah, kissing with braces. There’s an ordeal I think we all remember! And now, for the most truly romantic of them all, my personal favorite:

It was October 23rd. The end of a long day, after a wedding, then going through a haunted house. We were watching Beetlejuice on my couch in the dark while my friend slept on the love seat. He was sitting behind me rubbing my back, then put his arms around me. Soon he was tickling my face and we laughed that he was mesmerizing me. Then with his fingers on my chin he turned my head towards his, our lips touched and I was in a trance. (We’re married now) Best first kiss of mine.

Gotta love it. Leave yours in the comments below!

2 Responses to First Kiss – Do Tell!

  1. aniche says:

    I think I first kissed a girl on her kneecap. to me that was beyond third base, literally.

  2. Caroline says:

    I think the Butch Hamby Anne spoke of my have been my dad! :]

Leave a Reply

