What’s in Mina’s Travel Bag?

I know it has been a long time since I wrote, but we went away on vacation to visit relatives in Turkey and I have finally finished putting all our new treasures away. Now I can relax and write 🙂

Our voyage was very long, and an activity travel bag is very important for a little one. So, I read other blogs about traveling with kids and looked up different books, and discovered that the most important thing to have in a travel bag is an I SPY book.

Fortunately for me, the week before we left for Turkey, my mom was visiting and we found some I SPY books at a yard sale for $1 each. They were the best $4 I have ever spent. I picked one to take and boy, was it a lifesaver! Can You See What I See?, Cool Collections, Picture Puzzles to search and solve — each page is an assortment of different things. Along the side, they have a list of things to look for. Mina’s favorite pages were the Dinosaur and the Robot. It occupied her for HOURS on the flight.

I also threw in her Goodnight Moon board book and Curious George’s 1 to 10 and Back Again because she was very familiar with them and there were lots of things to pick out and count from each of the pages.

One of the blogs that I read suggested a book about planes. I found a really cool picture book at TKE that are part of a vehicle series. It is called Airplanes!: Soaring! Diving! Turning! (Things That Go!). She really liked the pictures and bold colors in the book. Sometimes you needed to turn the book vertical to read and that added another dimension to the story; none of her OTHER books did that!!

In addition to these bigger books, I threw in a few smaller books that are just the right size for little hands. That way she can read to herself or to her babies without needing Mommy around.

All in all, no travel bag should be devoid of an I SPY book. It is an absolute ESSENTIAL! ~ Elif

Leave a Reply

