the little things

There’s nothing like coming in to work and seeing, seemingly unregarded in the overflow of ARCs on your office floor, a copy of Margaret Atwood’s newest work. I love me some Atwood, whether it’s a full-length novel, short stories, or nonfiction, and Payback (on-sale date November 1) is incredibly timely:

Payback . . . is an investigation into the idea of debt as an ancient and central motif in religion, literature, and the structure of human societies.

Will it make me feel better about the sale of my bank or the Wall Street collapse? Probably not. But what I’m betting it will do is give me some new ways to look at the world and maybe, just maybe, a way to think about our current economy that doesn’t involve fleeing the country and/or transferring all of my (meager) savings to the Bank of Sock Under the Mattress.

I’ll let you know.

Leave a Reply

