Review | One Square Inch of Silence

Gordon Hempton’s One Square Inch of Silence has actually, literally, changed my life. Hempton has opened my eyes and ears to a whole new dimension of life—sounds and the very rare lack thereof. I have changed my alarm clock, the volume levels on my television and iPod, and have a whole new appreciation of the impact of sound on my daily routine. One Square Inch of Silence is a fascinating look at the often overlooked problem of noise pollution, a rousing call to action, and a wonderful record of one man’s search for the quiet places of America.

Powell’s has a great piece on their blog featuring Hempton and co-author John Grossman.

One Response to Review | One Square Inch of Silence

  1. This sounds fascinating. I love silence myself. I can’t stand to have the tv on all the time like some of my relatives do, too keep them company. I’ll have to check this one out.

Leave a Reply

