A “golden age,” says Eggers at National Book Awards

Let The Great World Spin

Winner of the National Book Award for fiction, 2009

Dave Eggers, accepting the Literarian Award at the National Book Awards, declares “publishing is in a golden age.” Colum McCann, winner of the 2009 National Book Award for fiction, would have to agree. The scene was the awards ceremony for the 60th annual National Book Awards in New York City. McCann’s novel, Let The Great World Spin, loved by booksellers here at the King’s English, is a sweeping social novel set in the dazzling land that was New York City in the 1970s. The First Tycoon: The Epic Life of Cornelius Vanderbilt, by T. J. Stiles, won for nonfiction, and the poetry award was given to Keith Waldrop for Transcendental Studies: A Trilogy. And Phillip Hoose, author of the true story, Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice was joined on the podium as he accepted his award by Claudette Colvin herself.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: